Eris: The Female Warrior

Eris: The Female Warrior


The Female Warrior

The meaning of Eris as a planet in astrology is covered lightly here for information only.


Eris Details

Eris was discovered in 2005.

Eris does not rule any sign.

Eris’ path is outside Pluto’s orbit.

Eris is classified as a dwarf planet.

Eris takes +/- 557 years to complete one trip around the Sun.

Eris can retrograde 13 times over one degree of the zodiac.

Podcast Episode

Listen to our podcast episode on Eris The Female Warrior: Planet Series.

In this episode, Alison and Arwynne discuss the dwarf planet Eris and its discovery implications as expressed through society.

You can listen by clicking below.

Eris’ Themes

Xena, the female warrior.

Strife and discord.

Eris was the sister of Ares (Mars).

Will compete if you are worth the effort.

Eris shows where you will pull for the team.


Eris’ Discovery Event

Eris was discover by Mike Brown and his team at 11:20am on January 5, 2005 in Pasadena, California.

Brown famously demoted Pluto to dwarf planet and wrote about it in this book How I killed Pluto and Why it Had It Coming.


Eris Discovery Chart

Below is the discovery chart for Eris.

A planet’s discovery chart is like the planet’s birth chart.

The time captured is the first time it has come into human consciousness, so that’s why we use this chart.

Even though Eris has been there all along, we just couldn’t see it and we didn’t know it existed.

Mike E. Brown: Birth Chart

Mike Brown was born at 2:35pm, June 5, 1965, Huntsville Alabama.

His birth chart is shown below.

This is a great chart for working with dispositor trees.

Eris Artwork

This fabulous artwork is by Vancouver Astrologer and Artist Arwynne O’Neill.

Arwynne specializes in Badass Goddess images.

See more of her artwork in her online store MsPinkDesigns.

Author Bio

Alison encourages you to explore your unique creativity and live a satisfying life through your personal astrology. She offers her insights from the heart and with a sense of humor.

Go here to read more about Alison’s story.

If you want to send Alison a quick message go here.

More Articles

If you enjoyed this post, you may like some more astrology related articles from our blog. 

Star of David: Major Aspect Pattern

Star of David: Major Aspect Pattern

Star of David The Star of David is a major aspect pattern formed with six planets. There are two grand trines and the planets from the one grand trine are sextile to the planets in the other grand trine. This is a very rare major aspect pattern and sometimes the...

Astrology Basics – The Planets

Astrology Basics – The Planets

by Alison Price

Planets Overview

There are many planets used in astrology. Each astrologer may choose to use all or only some of the planets in their work.

The Seven Visible Planets

The seven visible planets are those that can be seen with a naked eye.

They are the Sun, The Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn. They are known as the traditional or Hellenistic planets.

The Outer Planets

The three outer planets are Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. They are the modern planets.


The Meaning of the Planets

The Sun

The Sun is your identity, your heart and your character. It shows where you are honest and true to yourself. It is where you can shine in life. It represents your father.

More on the Sun.

The Moon

The Moon shows your feelings, reactions, gut instincts and your behavior. It rules food, how you care and who you nurture. It represents your mother, mother figures and caregivers.

More on the Moon.



Mercury shows your thinking, talking and communication style. It has to do with all buying and selling. It represents your schoolteacher and neighborhood people.

More on Mercury.


Venus shows beauty, art, style, love and money. It has to do with your values and what you invest in both things like jewelry and people. It represents young women and sisters.

More on Venus.


Mars is about sex, energy, drive, challenges and where you compete in life. It shows when you will get off the couch and do something. It represents young men and brothers.

More on Mars.


Jupiter is about growth, expansion, reaching and even overdoing things. It shows your vision and potential. It represents uncles, teachers and preachers.

More on Jupiter.


Saturn is the planet of achievement, honors, control, limitations and fears. It represents your father, older men and authority figures.

More on Saturn.


Uranus is the planet for the future it rules trends, technology, computers and the space age. It represents adolescents, immigrants, those on the fringes of society and rebels.

More on Uranus.


Neptune is the planet of illusion, intuition, mysticism, art, magic and the unknown. It represents the psychic, the invisible, the underdog and the homeless.

More on Neptune.


Pluto is the planet of power, influence and sex. It represents people who have power over you through your use of their resources or those whom you have the drop on. It represents the loan shark, surgeon, psychiatrist, undertaker, criminal and therapist.

More on Pluto.


Chiron is the planet of wounds and healing. It suggests where you are weak and wanting. It represents people who help you like nurses, teachers, gurus and charity workers.

More on Chiron.


Eris is the planet of the female warrior. It represents the fight instinct in women. It suggests those who will fight for you simply because they are on your team, group or crew. It represents sisters-in-arms.

More on Eris.

Astrology Basics for Beginner’s

This is part of the special Starzology Astrology Basics series for you all. Many of you ask where to start and here are the planet’s meanings.

You can check out the rest of the series: